Happy Roald Dahl Day!

I’m a huge Roald Dahl fan. After reading James and the Giant Peach, I realized that I had been James at one point because I had felt trapped and hopeless when I couldn’t read. Finding Dahl’s book was as if Miss Spider had visited my room and told me not to worry. James and the Giant Peach taught me that I could liberate myself from loneliness, hopelessness, and segregation, feelings that a child like James or I shouldn’t feel at such a young age. For that, I’ve come to see Dahl as a grandfather who left behind his stories for all of us, his reading grandchildren, to listen and to learn from when we needed someone who couldn’t be there. Happy Roald Dahl Day, everyone.

Leave a Reply

